HOW OFTEN SHOULD YOU SWITCH SHAMPOO

According to the research I conducted online, changing shampoo often is actually an urban myth. However, I make it a point to alternate between a few tried-and-tested brands that are suitable for my hair, which has always been rebonded, since 2001. I tend to be particular about trying new haircare brands, and I will only do so if it helps to maintain my hair texture.

Just finished my current set of shampoo meant for colored hair (which I didn’t really like and shan’t mention), and I bought this set that I’ve used before:

ELSEVE by L’Oreal

I make it a point to condition my hair after every shampoo wash, and I use a hair mask 2 to 3 times a week as recommended, simply because when you tend to rebond your hair regularly, certain areas tend to get damaged if you are not careful… which is why I rebond my hair 2 to 3 times a year. I like the feeling of my hair soft & silky~

By Hairstyle-Blog.Com

Here are some tips to pay attention to:

  • If you color, perm, straighten or receive any chemical treatment on your hair, switch to a shampoo formulated for your chemically treated hair.
  • If your hair starts to require more frequent shampooings, becomes more oily because of a lifestyle change, a gentle daily shampoo will be easiest on your hair.
  • If your hair becomes drier due to sun exposure or over use of heat, switch to a moisturizing shampoo and conditioner. It will restore lost moisture, strengthen the hair and increase elasticity.
  • If you swim in a pool, or in salt water, use a shampoo formulated for swimmers. It will help prevent dry brittle hair and increase shine and body.
  • If you use products on your hair, i.e. conditioner, spray, gel, root lifter, etc. use a clarifying shampoo. I think almost everyone can benefit from using a clarifying shampoo periodically. It will cut through product buildup which dulls and flattens hair, and increase its body, fullness and shine.
  • If you have excessive oiliness on hair and scalp, select a balancing shampoo, or a shampoo formulated just for oily hair.
  • If you want more volume to your hair, choose a volumizing shampoo.

It’s not important that you switch any shampoo that is working well in your hair. Your hair does not become immune to the cleansing capabilities of a shampoo because of the frequency of its use. That doesn’t mean you won’t need to change shampoos periodically however. If you pay attention to what’s happening to your hair and what changes may be going on in your lifestyle, you’ll know when it’s time to change your shampoo.

Love,
SAB
THE MAKEUP PAPARAZZI

Leave a Reply

