THE STEP SISTERS

Just wanted to share the recent works of a makeup artist, who also happens to be a personal friend of JERA and I.

“THE STEP SISTERS”

What I really like about this piece of work is the use of contrast between special effects makeup and natural makeup to present the theme of ‘stepsisters’. It reminds me of a recent Korean horror drama I caught on TV some time go, about this pair of twin sisters who were born with different fates 😦

So, impressed as I was, I asked Ryan about his key inspiration behind the makeup style for Step Sisters, a collaboration with Cheryl Ow (Model) and Kevin Seah (Clothes).

I wanted to showcase the different makeup skills I have with that series of pictures, and yet astonish the audience in the shortest time frame. I never liked those ‘normal’ pretty bridal pictures anyway. When I knew I was to do a shoot with wedding gowns, I tried my best to think of a theme that would make the pictures more exciting with a story line, rather than a ‘flat’ pretty picture. ~ Ryan Loi

He credits Cheryl, who is his makeup mentor, for teaching him special effects makeup and helping out during the entire shoot. And Cheryl’s response to that was simply, “Actually, I just sat there and Ryan did all the work. Really!!” So humble, the both of them 😀 Anyway, besides ‘The Step Sisters’, they also shot the following:

“THE BLACK WIDOW”

“FACE MATTERS

I think it’s great to have morbid themes every now & then; then at least there is some versatility of sorts!

Love,
SAB
THE MAKEUP PAPARAZZI

CREDITS: MAKEUP, HAIR, STYLING, ART DIRECTION, PHOTOGRAPHY: RYAN LOI |MODEL / ASSISTANT: CHERYL OW | CLOTHES: KEVIN SEAH

Leave a Reply

