PAT MCGRATH: THE MAKEUP GENIUS

S0 how did I realize that I have a passion in makeup and beauty?

I guessed it would be way back when I was in Secondary 2. Yes, I started applying makeup when I was schooling 😉 I even got into trouble with my Headmistress for having powder on my face! Yet, that did not deter me from exploring the latest makeup trends, products and techniques. You can say I never looked back since then 🙂

And ever since, I have gotten comments from friends around me regarding makeup. They would ask questions like, “Is it difficult to put on full makeup?” or tell me, “I do not know how to put on eyeliners for nuts!”, and “I love makeup but I don’t think I can do it. It’s so hard!”.

If you tell yourself that you cannot, you will never get there. If you tell yourself you can, at least you will be half-way there 🙂

That is my motto. I have learned my makeup skills through research and self-taught methods, as well as the time spent working at MAKE UP FOR EVER. Learning makeup techniques and then improvising them into my own style is so much fun! Once you master certain makeup techniques, you will then be able to create looks of your own.

And now, with the numerous information channels that we have now, like makeup books, magazines, You Tube, blogs and makeup schools, it is really not difficult to learn how to put on makeup of an intermediate level, let alone basic makeup. Let confidence and effort be the main ingredients to the recipe towards success 🙂 There is no end to learning and therefore, I am still learning and I will not stop learning!

After all, my biggest inspiration from the makeup industry is Pat McGrath!

She is the most sought-after makeup artist in all major fashion runways and she has been called the most influential make-up artist in the world by Vogue magazine. To me, she is super duper AWESOME!!!

Watch this video!

It blew my mind when I watched it years back and now, I am still in love with it 😀

Models, designers and celebrities adore her. Not only is she creative, she is also spot-on and possesses a bubbly personality. Constantly in demand by top celebrities such as Madonna, Oprah, Jennifer Lopez, Scarlett Johansson and Jennifer Aniston, Pat McGrath’s editorial work with top photographers like Steven Meisel for Italian Vogue and American Vogue, and continually breaks new ground. She collaborates on major fashion advertising campaigns such as Prada, Louis Vuitton, Balenciaga, Calvin Klein, Versace, Valentino, Dolce & Gabbana, Giorgio Armani, YSL, Stella McCartney and Lanvin.

Versace RTW Fall 2006

Valentino RTW Fall 2006

McGrath was raised in Northampton and she credits her mother, Jean McGrath, for her love of fashion and make-up, saying that she would comment on clothes as they watched classic movies together. McGrath has no formal training in fashion or make-up, having completed only an art foundation course at a Northampton college.

“I really love being a makeup artist. It never gets mundane or predictable and every shoot and show is different.”

McGrath’s career breakthrough came while working with Edward Enninful (then fashion editor of i-D magazine) in the early 1990s, when her innovative use of color “brilliantly solved the world’s ennui with grunge” and helped launch i-D to a position of international importance. In the mid-1990s, she worked both with minimalist Jil Sander and with surrealist John Galliano, where she became known for her “latex petals stucked to faces, vinyl lips, bodies drenched in powder paint, and stylized Kabuki physiognomies.”

Dior Fall/Winter 2003 Couture

Dior Spring/Summer 2007 Couture

Dior Fall 2004 Couture

Her latest work at Balenciaga RTW  Fall 2010


She attends four fashion show seasons (counting couture) each year. Additionally, she designed Armanis cosmetics line in 1999 (one of my fav cosmetics line) and in 2004 was named global creative-design director for Procter and Gamble, where she is in charge of Max Factor (her backstage makeup choice) and Cover Girl cosmetics, among other brands. During McGrath‘s constant travels to work locations, she takes between thirty and fifty bags of materials, tools, and reference materials. She is also known for her inventive use of materials: her most creative make-up is handmade, and she works mainly with her fingers instead of with brushes.

Every designer takes you on a different journey. It’s great when they let you into their fantasy.

Are you feeling more inspired now?

For more insights, read this.

Photo credits: Elle, Allure and Pat McGrath’s forum

Love,
THE MAKEUP PAPARAZZI

Leave a Reply

